Should I worry? It’s better to know.

It’s better to know. Does my son or daughter have autism? Is it possible that my son isn’t hearing everything I’m saying? Why doesn’t my baby look at me?

Fear of the unknown will keep us from reaching our true potential. When we know the facts we can make better decisions. The decisions we make will direct our path in years to come. These words apply to so many situations that we’re all faced with in life, but for parents knowing our children’s strengths and weaknesses will allow us to help them reach their full potential in life.

Developmental milestones in early infancy was one of my concerns. My son wasn’t reaching for or holding a rattle or exploring the small space within his reach. This was the only sign, such a small and seemingly insignificant sign, that something could be wrong. Sure he didn’t push himself up on his arms when I put him on his tummy. He didn’t want tummy time at all.

His older brother loved to sleep on his tummy as a small baby. At the time, it wasn’t recommended because medical professionals suspected a link between SIDS and infant sleeping positions. So we allowed him to get comfortable on his tummy while keeping a careful eye on him, and promptly turned him on his side as he drifted off to sleep.

But what does it all mean anyway? Should I worry? Well, the truth is maybe – maybe not.

Autism Awareness

As a parent, no words can instill fear like the words autism and special needs. I remember the first time I heard the words “developmentally disabled” used by my son’s pediatric neurologist to describe his future prognosis. I was crushed. If I could go back in time and know then what I know now, I’d see the future is uncertain for us all. I’d know that despite countless obstacles, I couldn’t be happier as a mother, and as an individual.


Image Sources:
48365 World Autism Awareness Day – CC BY-NC-SA 2.0
Autism Awareness – CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Creative Commons License
Love, Support, Educate, Advocate, Accept… by Liana Seneca is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Any thoughts? Feel free to comment!

