Blogging for my Sanity

It’s amazing how much things have changed in the few short months since I started blogging.

My 7-year-old, non-verbal son is sitting in a nice warm sunny window watching Alphabet Amusement Park on Netflix. Over the last few months, he’s learned to navigate Netflix on the iPad like a pro. He unlocks the iPad with a pass code and without assistance, get’s on Netflix and chooses the correct user account (so that Netflix will stop prompting me to watch Leap Frog, Signing Time, or another movie/tv show for children that I’m already singing the theme songs to as I drift off to sleep every night…)

My blog has become a journal of personal experiences, a place to be myself, and to renew my strength. At first I wasn’t sure anyone would want to read what I wrote. My adventure in advocating publicly for children with autism and special needs began with a Facebook page. I quickly realized inspirational quotes, funny sayings, photos and bad news were the most popular Facebook posts. I was disappointed. I didn’t reach as many special needs parents as I had hoped. The resources I found over the past 7 years weren’t getting much attention. I had spent hours researching, reading, and learning how best to help my son, and I wanted nothing more than to share what I had learned, hoping the considerable effort I made would save some other exhausted parent time and energy.

 

Blogging has been more rewarding than I could ever have imagined. The international support for special kids has been overwhelming! Right now I am blogging for my sanity, as my head is reeling with ideas, and things to do, mental checklists, paperwork even on the holidays, and plans to make while the holiday is not yet over…

I don’t have much time before, it’s off to visit family this Easter. I’m going over my notes to remember what it is I wanted to say today…

I’ve been working on some new goals for my blog, what better day than today to put it out there? A day filled with hope and renewal, spring has sprung and the air is light with optimism. In response to the blogging 201 challenge I have added 3 goals. So here they are:

  1. 100% more followers by October 15th
  2. Increase average daily hits by approx 100% by December 31st
  3. Spend one hour each week visiting my followers’ blogs, reading their posts, and commenting on their work, from now until August 30th.

So what do you think? Is it too much? I think together we can do it. Together we can do anything! We’re a team – a blogging team – I write you read. I put it all out there, you give me feedback. What do you think? Will it work?

Michelle W. from The Daily Post asked some questions, and I’ve given it some thought (and wrote those thoughts down so that the don’t turn up with my loose screws in the garden – but that’s another story…) So here they are –
  • Why do you blog?
    I write to connect with others, to gain followers (and believers in the cause), to self-publish (because maybe I do have something worthwhile to say), to work through and clarify my thoughts, to work toward a book contract (because it would be great if I could get paid to do this someday 😉 ). I write to promote advocacy for children with autism and special needs through experiences we can all relate to in one way or another. I write to gain support from the public, and help spread the word to autism and special needs parents, professionals, educators, teachers, therapists, family and friends.
  • If your blog exceeded your wildest dreams, what would that look like?
    If my blog exceeded my wildest dreams, I’d have 10,000 followers. My blog would be filled with heart warming, inspirational and humorous stories that provoke emotion and tug the heart-strings. My blog would be read by all different people who support the cause of advocacy for children with autism and special needs – and ultimately more special needs parents! My blog is already exceeding my wildest dreams by fostering a world-wide community of people who support our cause. I was hoping to get nation wide support, but I had not expected the support I have found world-wide! Discussions would include both experiences everyone can relate to and draw inspiration from and personal experiences, resources, links, and discussion related to special needs. I would post 1-3 times per week, and the site would be well-organized into networking pages for family & friends, bloggers, links and resources. The site would have a very personal feel – authentic emotion, and a real person to point parents and professionals in the right direction.

Well, that’s all for now, it is Easter Sunday after all and I have places to go and people to see, diapers to change, and outfits, and hair, and teeth to tend to. Hope you all have a great day today! I’ll be back later and we’ll talk some more…


Image Source:
Blogging? – CC BY 2.0
Creative Commons License
Love, Support, Educate, Advocate, Accept… by Liana Seneca is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

One thought on “Blogging for my Sanity”

  1. Not too much at all, I definitely think you can get there. I am definitely happy that you blog and advocate support. I’m glad to have come across you in this blogging community and gotten to know you a bit- we need more people like you in this world 🙂

    Like

Any thoughts? Feel free to comment!

