Plans? What Plans?

It’s a beautiful warm sunny day today. The kind of day that makes you want to play hookey and just spend your day in blissful aimlessness. We have so much to do today…


learn live hope

We’ve tried to make a concrete plan to move. I had hoped this week would help us sort out all of our concerns, but so far it has just left me more clueless than ever. I was hoping to visit a few schools and find out what kind of education my son would get. I’m still fearful of making a move that I’m unhappy with in the long run. I’m hoping to find a school with more special education resources, and less fighting for inclusion.

What I’ve learned from my experiences is that there are often solutions available at little or no cost to the school district. It just takes a bit of creativity, a spirit of inclusion, and a willingness to make it happen. I’m a special needs parent, I won’t deny there’s extra work involved. I hope that new teachers, aids, therapists, doctors, and professionals will find what I’ve found – extra reward for the extra work. It is truly a beautiful learning experience.

Watching my son learn new things is like watching “education” under a microscope. It’s like examining every molecule. Techniques that work with him also work with typically developing children and even adults. Who can deny the allure of modern technology? I love my iPhone and I love the iPad too! I’m not particularly inclined to want to go without my handy smart phone. I’d be lost without my calendar (with backup over wi-fi), my eBooks, my music, my entertainment, and my lifeline to the world around me.

Time management is always tricky and moving is a major stress in my life right now. Modern technology will keep me in contact with my family and friends back home. Home is where the heart is after all.

I want so little in life and yet so much. A yard, a garden, a play area for my son, safety, adaptability (I may just be child-proofing for a 6′ tall teenager for all I know…)

When you are a mother, you are never really alone with your thoughts. A mother always has to think twice, once for herself and once for her child.

So it is with second thoughts, fears and doubts that we face the prospect of moving. Financial hardships, distanced from our support network, very busy, not enough time to rest, relax, and regain our strength.

I think I will play hookey after all and take the time to renew my hopes and dreams for the future…


 

Image Sources:
West Fork, Carson River, Hope Valley, Alpine Co., CA
by Steve Dunleavy – CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Learn – Live – Hope – by IrvingGFM – CC BY-NC-ND 3.0
Creative Commons License
Love, Support, Educate, Advocate, Accept… by Liana Seneca is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

4 thoughts on “Plans? What Plans?”

  1. I think you are right to wait to find the best solution that will work in the long run. It sounds like you know what you are looking for and that must be half the battle won. I have my fingers crossed you find good resources. Sending all best wishes for you and your family.

    Like

Any thoughts? Feel free to comment!

