One Word Photo Challenge: Purple (Winter Sunset)

This week I’m posting a photo collage in response to: One Word Photo Challenge: Purple | Jennifer Nichole Wells  The first thing that came to mind when I read this week’s photo challenge wasn’t a picture I had taken but rather an image in my mind…

12-03 last ss of 2003

I’ve dreamed of planting a “Purple Sunset Garden” in memory of my step-father. I wanted to use some photos I had actually taken for this photo challenge but the image is still in the dream state. (I hope to come back to this post and add photos of the actual sunset garden as it grows…)

The winter sunset photos are my mom’s. These are just a few of my very favorite pictures, mom has taken over the years. I’ve kept them on my computer and my cell and used them as wallpaper and inspiration for photos I’ve taken myself.

Mom was my very first photography mentor. She got me my first camera when I was 8. If I remember correctly it was a 220 with flash bulbs… Long before the days of digital photography…

The flowers are crocus and iris photos from google images (filtered for non-commercial re-use.)

This photo challenge is dedicated to my mom in memory of my step-father who committed suicide last June. The color purple has a special meaning to us. Purple was my step-dad’s favorite color and he loved to watch the sunset. He obsessively cut any saplings that sprung up in the spring to prevent them from obstructing the view in years to come. Every time I visit the place where he committed suicide I think of planting a garden in his memory. I think maybe it helps me dispel the grief and think positive thoughts about life…

“Don’t stop dreaming, otherwise sleep will get awfully boring.”

Inspired by the winter sunset and dreaming of flower gardens...
Inspired by the winter sunset and dreaming of flower gardens…

For more weekly photo challenges click here: One Word Photo Challenge | Jennifer Nichole Wells

This post was also inspired by Well, This Could Be Awkward | Ellen Maybe

9 thoughts on “One Word Photo Challenge: Purple (Winter Sunset)”

      1. Thanks 🙂 I got started with the Zero to Hero challenge. That’s why I replied with the link. I think it will help you find ways to link your posts to other posts without getting caught in the spam filter. It looks like you’re off to a great start! Keep up the good work and please do join me in the next round of Zero to Hero (by the Daily Press.) I haven’t officially finished the Zero to Hero Challenge and I’m looking forward to the next round coming in April!

        Like

  1. I am so sorry about the loss of your step father. A memory garden sounds like a wonderful thing though. I look forward to seeing your photos of your Purple Sunset Garden as it begins to form. Thank you as always for sharing your beautiful story 🙂

    Like

Any thoughts? Feel free to comment!

