One Word Photo Challenge: Blue

For this week’s photo challenge, I didn’t want a cliché photo (water for the color blue.) I decided to try some symbolism…

I chose this photo because in this photo I see

friendship in the water,

trust (I’m trusting my son’s cousin Alexia, to supervise a bit in the shallow water. She’s doing so well that I’ve come over with the camera to take a photo and remember this moment forever),

heaven (in the joy),

truth (in the children being themselves and enjoying themselves – Stephen is autistic and legally deaf-blind. Alexia is a gifted natural teacher),

loyalty (to family),

wisdom (Alexia is young and yet she has so much experience with disabled children. Alexia also has a cousin on the other side of the family who is the same age as she is and has Down’s Syndrome. Her expectations have proved to be among the most realistic. The adults in our family slowly came to terms with Stephen’s disabilities while the children saw no fault, and no disappointment.)

and

faith (for my son’s future long after I’m gone…)

Blue Water Symbolism

 

 

 

This post is in response to: One Word Photo Challenge: Blue | Jennifer Nichole Wells

For more weekly photo challenges click here: One Word Photo Challenge | Jennifer Nichole Wells

10 thoughts on “One Word Photo Challenge: Blue”

  1. I love the picture and, of course, all the meanings you found in it… I feel it is bursting with symbols that touch the soul… Have a wonderful week!

    Like

    1. Thank-you 🙂 I’m so glad you liked it! It was a scheduled post and I accidentally posted it one day early. A happy accident I guess since my last post was so sad. I hope you have a wonderful week too!

      Like

    1. Thanks Jen! I love the symbolic use of color. When I read the description of the symbolism for blue, I thought – I have the perfect picture for that – now I just need to find it! So I restored some photos from a backup drive. The challenge got me motivated to do something I’ve been meaning to do for awhile, and it also made it fun instead of just a chore 🙂 Next I have to take the hard drive out of the laptop I burned out and see if I can recover photos from that computer too (but that’s a project for another day.) I accidentally put the wrong day on my scheduled post – usually I’d say better late than never – but in this case it was better early than never (that sounds so wierd coming from me – lol.)

      Like

      1. I never seem to do anything with them until I start on a project 😉 I haven’t had much time for scrapbooking lately… Most of my photography has been for educational materials lately! I couldn’t find any free ASL flashcards with photos on the internet. I’d like to get the set I made up somewhere eventually…

        Like

      2. Oh that would be great! I’d love to see what you’ve come up with. I was a photo major with art history and education minors in college so I’ve always loved combining the 3- art for educational purposes. I’m really the same way as far as projects are concerned. I have to have a goal for my art. This challenge has kept me shooting every week which is great.

        Like

Any thoughts? Feel free to comment!

