What? It’s 2:22 am and you just realized you’re out of diapers? (Crisis management)

I’m writing today because I believe writing is therapeutic. After all if you don’t like it you don’t have to read it. (I do hope you’ll like it.) The written word is unlike the spoken word. With the spoken word, I don’t want to hear it just doesn’t work.

So when a teenage single mom texts at 2:22 am and says,
“I ran out of diapers and he pooped help!! ”

What do I say…


cloth diaper 412017335_426d02bbaa_o R

“I guess you’ll have to do it the old-fashioned way. Use cloth.”

first nakey baby outfit

“What? You never played with baby dolls when you were a little girl?”

I’m just at a loss. How do I talk to this emotionally troubled teenage mom?

I’m fascinated by philosophy and religion. Jesus and Mohammed (peace be upon them) both went from the from city to wilderness to prepare for the challenges that life would bring. I go from the city to the country to find that inner peace…

If you’ve watched Mountain Men – you’ve learned the value of emergency preparations. Sure there are people in the world who will help you, but never underestimate the value of helping yourself.

Why not use cloth?

the-green-renewal-of-the-cloth_1

You have no money to buy diapers, no job,  no education. Learn self-sufficiency. The school of hard knocks is a great teacher. We may not enjoy it but it teaches us all the same.

Cloth_diapers_drying_in_the_sun

It could be I’m exhausted from potty training a 7-year-old with autism and special needs, and I can’t afford to support two more people. I can teach you to take care of yourself and your baby. I love you and care about you both. So what can I do?

cloth_diapers

Jesus and Mohamed (peace be upon them) both were known for sensitivity. Jesus said. “Let he who has no sin throw the first stone.” Mohamed would hear the babies cry and shorten his sermon, so not to distress the mothers (with their babies’ hungry cries.) Moses was known for overcoming obstacles. He had a speech impediment but he spoke. Not only did he speak but he spoke up for what he believed in.

Buddha was known for inner peace – he reflected and meditated.

The hindu religion is known for love of diversity – who has more gods than the Hindu? It’s the world’s oldest known religion – and it has survived. All these different religions and philosophies  have valuable lessons to learn.

I hope you’re not offended by what I’ve said. How do I get someone out of a situation I didn’t get them in to? How do I get two young mothers who are also sisters to stop fighting? Talking without listening is not the way to resolve a conflict. How do I teach someone who has never known honesty its value? How do I teach two young mothers, abandoned as children, how to trust? How do I break through the manipulation and deceit to teach them to be true to themselves?

I’ll let you know when I figure it out! For now I guess I’ll just do the best I can under the circumstances and take in a 19-year-old and a newborn.

Steve and baby Greyson
Steve and baby Greyson

I now have a family of 5 in a 2 bedroom apartment 😐 I can’t afford to live like this in the city, so it looks like we’ll be moving out-of-state – from the city to the countryside.

We’ll need someplace where we can get her all set up in her own apartment. This will be a big change for our family. Steve is on the fence about moving to the country. I’m trying to think happy thoughts like gardening, playing outside, and living my dream 🙂

IMG_0164

P.S. click the links above for more info!
emergency preparedness for special needs
making doll clothes (Playing with dolls is good for emotional well-being!)

my seedlings (last year's)
my seedlings (last year’s)

The picture above is in response to: One Word Photo Challenge: Green | Jennifer Nichole Wells
Click here for more weekly photo challenges One Word Photo Challenge | Jennifer Nichole Wells

4 thoughts on “What? It’s 2:22 am and you just realized you’re out of diapers? (Crisis management)”

  1. You are doing a good thing. She chose to keep her baby and now she needs to learn a whole lot of Life’s lessons. One being that God helps those that help themselves, put out the effort to struggle and make it on her own and God will be there by her side. God bless you all.

    Like

Any thoughts? Feel free to comment!

