"Time and tide wait for no man." Geoffrey Chaucer

Time? Where does it go?

Time? What Time? Multi-tasking while waiting in line in the school parking lot – working on my new adventure –  blogging about advocacy for children with autism and special needs Advocacy for Children with Autism and Special Needs- like us on facebook to show your support!

I’m sitting in my car with my son, waiting for traffic to pass – freezing – it’s 10° outside- my son is all bundled up and my jacket is unzipped – my gloves aren’t on either. But we’re making every moment count!

Time is too slow for those who wait, too swift for those who fear, too long for those who grieve, too short for those who rejoice, but for those who love, time is eternity. - Henry Van Dyke

It’s back to work in the kitchen cooking meals from scratch for gluten-free restricted dairy and egg diet. While trying to work from home and save a few $ for my son’s “free and appropriate public school education” the word free can be misleading it sounds as though you don’t need to pay for it. The consensus between special needs parents here in CT from West Hartford to New Britain to Newington and Bristol all seem to agree a “free” education for the disabled is not “free.” The approximate cost of legal fees to get the “free” education is about $6000 and a necessity in even the wealthier school districts. The cost of home schooling for special needs $500-$1000 per year plus lost wages if you can manage to be a special needs parent and hold a job…

time-is-money

Early birds, change of schedule again…

Back to writing again… I’ve been thinking about finances, and how to best support a special needs child. How does one save money for a lawyer or to move without loosing financial assistance? One step forward, two steps back. An optimist would call it the cha-cha. I was on my own too young to have the kind of education that can provide any financial security. Poverty begets poverty – that is my fear. How will my son be able to get by when I’m gone…

time management
Enough of that, stronger people have met an early death stressing over finances…
For now I’ll get through today. Tomorrow has enough worries of its own. Rest, relax, eat my 1st meal of the day at 6 pm… Try to get a good night’s sleep – keep the faith strong, put one foot in front of the other, and take it one day at a time…

on that note, another good read: http://www.friendshipcircle.org/blog/2013/10/31/5-ways-to-beat-caregiver-burnout/

"Time and tide wait for no man." Geoffrey Chaucer

Any thoughts? Feel free to comment!

